150 kw wind turbine induction generator problem

Status
Not open for further replies.

WMC123

Electrical
Aug 18, 2023
GB
Morning Everyone.

I've been running our 150kw wind turbine successfully for the last 8 yrs but after a completely different controller fault (voltage error on mains) seemed to "go away" after we changed the transformer board, upon restart of the turbine the following occurs

1. Normal start up procedure, synchronizes to the grid completely normally and then runs fine for anywhere between 30 seconds and a minute before, for whatever reason, the main contactor disengages the generator and then tries to re engage the generator without any fault registering on the controller. I would have assumed that the controller, noticing the disconnection, would itself stop the turbine - but it doesn't. Of course when this happens I switch it off immediately for obvious reasons.

2.I'd love to hear your thoughts on what to look for please. I've ordered a new contactor (the existing contactor is over 30 yrs old) just in case thats faulty (its very noisy so I'll be checking the shading ring this weekend for continuity but I've already cleaned the mating surfaces and the points)

3.Would it be a faulty generator. No burnt smells when lifting the inspection cover, it all looks and smells normal. Presumably it wouldn't synchronize normally if there was a problem with it - or would it ?.(We dont use motorstart on this turbine it freewheels up to 1500 rpm and cuts in.)

Thankyou in advance Gentlemen !

KR Bill

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Hi Waross.......thanks for your reply.....sorry I dont have any schematics for the soft start circuit as we bought the turbine "used" :(
I should also add that its the bypass contactor that disengages / engages rather than the main grid contactor.Thanks Waross :)

Is the OEM still out there, or are they defunct (like so many others)?
(I guess not, if you're coming to us instead of the OEM for this support.)