Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

2000 fpm CONVEYOR

Status
Not open for further replies.

rgajewski

Mechanical
Dec 13, 2005
US
I work for a web converting company and we need to unwind "mill rolls" at 2000 feet per minute. There are 2 primary methods to "drive" the roll (55" wide x 40" dia x 2800 #s) either core/chuck driving and belt driving. The core/check is equating to about 100 HP as we need to go from 500 fpm to 2000 fpm in 3 seconds. The method aof a "conveyor" belt in contact with the roll to drive is the method we are leaning towards. I have had no experience with belts at those speeds and am looking for recommendations. FYI when we ran another project with a "v" guided belt at 1200 FPM the belt failed continuously. Thanks
Ray

Every once in a while the voices in my head have good ideas.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Center drive is much simpler and less expensive to implement. You need a good reason to go with a surface drive. That reason is usually how your material can tolerate the forces of acceleration. 2000 fpm is about 25 mph so it should not be a big problem.

Are you only going to use the surface drive to assist in accelerating the roll?

Ive seen a few heavy 'parent' or mill rolls with surface drives. One benefit is better control of the web tension while maintaing a constant surface speed as the roll diameter decreases. Ive seen 9' wide paper converting equipment ramp up from 0 - 1900fpm in 8 seconds. Hope this helps.

I would think that a properly designed series of dancer rolls would allow for a much slower acceleration of your roll and significantly lower horsepower. Oklahoma State University is home of the Web Handling Research Center:

You just missed their spring web handling seminar, but you could benefit from contacting them for consultation. Don't re-invent the wheel.