Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

2020 Model Law and career advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

allenmd07

Structural
Feb 28, 2013
US
I graduated last year with a BS in Building Science and got a job with a structural engineer in North Carolina. I love my job, I primarily draft but since I took physics and statics classes for my bachelors degree my boss lets me do some calculations under his supervision. I've been there for 7 months now and I am continually given more opportunities to perform calculations as I gain experience. I also recently discovered if I work for him for 4 years I can sit for the FE and 4 additional more the PE since NC has many paths to the PE. This is very exciting because it means I don't have to go into more student loan debt to get a professional license.

However NCEES will implement their new Model Law in 2020. If it is passed on Jan 1, 2020 it means I reach this critical 8 years of experience 7 months to late. I've contacted the NC engineering board but the person I talked to didn't know anything about the 2020 Model Law, she had not heard of it and was surprised you would potentially need a masters degree to get a PE license. I am awaiting a call back from a PE on the board.

So my question is would you work or plan to go back to school? How would you approach this dilemma? With 2020 being 7 years away any new policies could be passed up to my final year of experience needed which concerns me. I would hate to work for 8 years just to have it revoked 7 months away from completing the experience requirements.

I don't know much about the NCEES Model Law system or how local jurisdictions implement it so any input into that would be appreciated as well.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you