Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

4-Run Method of Balancing 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

mtigos

Mechanical
Jan 19, 2009
BW
Can anybody help me with the procedure of carrying out a 4-Run Balancing Method using Mils/sec as the vibration parameter. I am only familiar with using Mils instead. Also, please give me the equations for calculating the correction mass

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

No, this is not for School..I want to balance a Flue-Gas Fan that keep coming out of Balance. I just want to know whether finding the correction mass has the same relation as when you use Mils for the vibration parameter.
Thanks.
I am a Graduate Engineer (Mechanical)

Is this a continuation of the posting that begin on Jan 26th?

At that time you had 'experts coming in to do the balancing' and now you are doing it yourself?

Anyway....to answer your questions

a)mils/sec is not a sensible unit for vibration measurements

mils are 0.001 inches displacement

mm/sec is a recognised unit in terms of vibration velocity

Do you understand the difference? If you can 4 run balance with mils you should be able to balance with other units.

b) Unbalance is unbalance no matter what units you measure vibration in - simply put, the objective of balancing is to get the centre of mass to coincide (or get close to) with the centre of rotation - you do this by adding mass (ounces or grams, depending on your background) to the rotor assembly

Greg is right - get a setup that uses phase angle and you can balance much more quickly. if your vibration is not due to solely to unbalance (thermal effects/cracks/misalignment)and you go for a 4 run method, you are going to waste a lot of time and effort.

TPL