4340 transmission output shaft

Status
Not open for further replies.

ZERRENG

Mechanical
Jan 21, 2019
US
Hello All,

I am new here and this is my first time posting a thread. I would like some feedback from either expert advise or real world experiences. I have Machined a few aftermarket performance transmission main shafts for a transmission that did not see much attention in aftermarket upgrade industry(would rather not disclose what Transmission they are designed for). So far the two I have made are holding up quite well with zero issues. BUT I feel I can make them easier and or better on the heat treating end of the spectrum. The design portion is limited as it is a direct replacement. The two prototypes I have now running are machined from 4340 annealed steel. All machining and cutting done prior to heat treatment. The shaft is Gas nitrided on the surface with a hardness of 52-56 HRC and a depth of .025" case. Overall after heat treating dimensionally the shafts did not change with this process enough to have to remachine anything. I have two more shafts completed also from 4340 annealed and possibly looking to go another route on heat treatment to better the life of the shaft. I am just not sure if the case depth of the Nitride will stand the test of time. Any opinions or recommendations? I am also looking into Carbo-Austempering, anyone had any experience with this? The less amount of post machining I have to do after heat treatment the better. Below are some numbers I have wrote down so you all know what type of power I am dealing with. Ultimately I am after the maximum torque output combined with the best heat treatment process. Aren't we all?

Engine= 600 ft lbs, 7,000 rpm
Trans= 3:1 ratio, Manual clutch
Speed @ shaft = 2333 rpm
shaft radius = .6875"
shaft length at this given radius = 11" (estimate)
Torque @ shaft = 1800 ft lbs (did not figure in any clutch loss/ slippage)

With these numbers I am getting a shear psi of 42,317. Does this seem accurate?