Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

67CFR Fisher Pressure Regulator

Status
Not open for further replies.

gguliye

Industrial
Apr 17, 2019
GB
Dear All,
i have the following question. i am completely new to regulators. so i am reading the datasheet for 67C regulator and found the following. it has the check valve assembly as being smart bleed option and is activated when the upstream pressure is lost and all air in the output enters to input through this check valve and regulator plug.
1) as far as i understood, this regulator is normally open when there is higher pressure (below the SP)in downstream. suppose the regulator is set to 3 barg. if the downstream pressure is 2 barg under the diagram the regulator will be open. am I right?
2) if the outler(pressure under diagram) reaches 3 barg, the regulator will be closed. am I right?
3) if the inlet pressure is lost, the plug will go down, and the regulator will open. why do i need smart bleed option? to have higher back flow Cv or?
regards
Capture_ttkwbh.jpg

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

This is, as far as I can see, a air pressure regulator.

This implies that the upstream pressure is normally more than downstream and that there is flow through the valve.

ON no flow, the pressure downstream will reach 3 bar and close the regulator against the higher pressure upstream.

Your item 3 is incorrect. Position of the plug is dependant on the downstream pressure

The fisher bulletin says

"In some cases, it is desired to exhaust downstream pressure
if inlet pressure is lost or drops below the setpoint of the
regulator. For example, if the regulator is installed on
equipment that at times has no flow demand but is expected
to backflow on loss of inlet pressure. The Type 67CFR or