Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

7.5 CAST issue (motion)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bengstudent

Mechanical
Jun 6, 2012
GB
Hi there, I'm new and my names Chris. I'm currently studying motorcycle design and engineering, including the use of NX. And in order to get more of a clue with NX and for my dissertation (eventually) im using CAST to suppliment my learning.

Now.... I seem to have a problem with all of the motion simulation tutorials. It seems to work with every other type of tutorial, but whenever using the motion tutorial parts, i get a "No write access" error message as soon as the CAST parts open. I also (in some instances) get "no privilege to access the AFU file". When checked, sometimes the AFU file is present and has been supplied, other times, it doesnt seem to been given. But in both instances, I get the same error message.

The Uni doesnt seem to have any idea what either of the issues are.

Silly thing is... I can make simulations myself and they run fine... But I still cant access and/or use the right motion parts.

Does anyone have any ideas? (and thanks in advance for having a little read)

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

You need to check the protections on the folders (and perhaps individual files) where CAST was installed. The privileges may not have been set so that all users have access to these files.

John R. Baker, P.E.
Product 'Evangelist'
Product Engineering Software
Siemens PLM Software Inc.
Industry Sector
Cypress, CA
Siemens PLM:
UG/NX Museum:

To an Engineer, the glass is twice as big as it needs to be.

Oh, thats brilliant! Thank you very much.

Just changed the security on the files and its all lovely.