A little help 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

ficabj5

Computer
Jul 17, 2016
RS
Hi everyone,
I am 18 years old and will enroll to university this autumn. I will be studying computer science on TUe (Technical University of Eindhoven). A little more than a year ago I started learning c++ and am pretty satisfied with my programming skills at the moment. I do realize I have a lot more to learn but I am looking for a new challenge.
To cut to the chase, I cannot decide whether to learn Java or C#.
I will be learning Java at the university and can take C# classes as electives, so I am able to learn both at the university. I realize they are very similar in some ways and completely different in others, and it all depends on what I plan on doing with them. I would really like to do something with artificial intelligence in professional terms, however I don't want to learn it by myself at the moment (I will be learning it at university).
Do you guys have any suggestions on what should I choose?
BTW: Is there anyone who is also going to TUe, I don't know anyone there yet [smile]

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Until you decide what you want to do with your skills, I think you should do at least both, and include possibly one or more of the following:
Python -- scientific and other programming
HTML5 -- web page design
PHP -- web page server scripting
Ruby/Ruby on Rails -- more comprehensive web page design and management
JSON or XML --text-based data formatting and transport

TTFN (ta ta for now)
I can do absolutely anything. I'm an expert! faq731-376 forum1529

As someone who has worked in the embedded world for umpteen years... I would MUCH rather have someone with C# experience than Java. Of course, if I was hiring for web app positions, Java would likely be heavily preferred over C#.

It all depends upon what you want to get into...

Dan - Owner
URL]