A New Kind Of Rivets

Status
Not open for further replies.

Emo_Mechanics

Feb 25, 2021
IR
Hello everybody!
I am new in helicopter maintenance.
I have seen a new kind of rivets with two dash on head (like ice-box rivets) and raised dot on center of rivet head.
Did any one know about this kind of rivets and the relevant material?
I will be thankful if i could have a catalogue of this kind of rivets.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

EM... Please provide more info... since this doesn't make sense.

EXACTLY what part number rivet are You referring to?
As IRstuff indicated, close-up photo of the rivet head with clear focus is important.
For US manufacturers, there is NO such rivet code as -.-
For US manufacturers, there is a mandatory requirement to 'impress' [depressed lettering] their distinctive company code/symbol on the rivet head, at no specified location

Regards, Wil Taylor
o Trust - But Verify!
o We believe to be true what we prefer to be true. [Unknown]
o For those who believe, no proof is required; for those who cannot believe, no proof is possible. [variation,Stuart Chase]
o Unfortunately, in science what You 'believe' is irrelevant. ["Orion", Homebuiltairplanes.com forum]

Dear friends
I have seen that rivet on critical attachment point in bk-117 helicopter.
Like attaching tail gearbox to spar or first rivets that attach longerons to skin.
This rivet belongs to group of rivets like DIN LN9198. but there is not any information about head signs.
Taking photo is forbidden in our shop. but if i could, i will upload photo about subject.

E_M...

I suppose, removing 1-rivet from the shop stock-bin... for a photo of the head outside of the shop environment... then returning it to the stock-bin is not possible? We may not be able to help You...

The specification DIN LN9198 is not one I am familiar with... anyone else have a clue?

Regards, Wil Taylor
o Trust - But Verify!