Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

A simple question on sketch

Status
Not open for further replies.

boofootoo

Mechanical
Apr 2, 2003
US
I am new to Pro/E. I want to model a circular part in Pro/E. To do so, I am revolving tha sketch about an axis.
The c/sectional sketch (a complex one with lots of lines) of the part has dimensions from 1.0 to 4.0 inches.
I open Pro/E 2001, go to feature->create->solid->protrusion & then select the planes & finally reach the sketch mode.

Then I go to the quadrant-1 & start sketching the c/s. Once I draw the final line & close the sketch. I find that the dimensions are in the range of 150, 200, 300 inches.

When I click modify dimensions & click one dim & change it to my actual dim of (lets say) 2.25inch. The full sketch adjusts accordingly & so it deformed the entire sketch & now what is have is a bunch of lines & i am not able to make out anything, Pro/e has adjusted the sketch & i am not able of makeout anything.

My questions is:
1) Since i know that my part is a small part with biggest dim as 3 in & not 200 inch, is there a way that I can set the screen before starting the part or before strating the sketch. SO that even If I draw a line from one corner of the sketcher window to another corner it shows it to be around 1 to 10 in in lenght.
2) I understand that before starting I zoom in & then start I can do the above, but how much to zoom in so that I can have dim's around 1 to 10 in in lenght.
3)Is there anyway to reset the screen to model small size parts

4)How to align parts? I couldnot find align button while using indent manager.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Hi,