Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Abaqus FSI methods: CEL vs CFD-Standard/Explicit co-simulation vs? 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

biofriendly

Bioengineer
Jul 19, 2009
CA
Hi All,

I am new to considering dynamics of fluids in a model. I am learning of the ways Abaqus can handle fluid-solid interaction. By fluid I definitely dont mean hydrostatic as that can be handled in Abaqus/Standard.

I already have practiced a few examples in Eulerian-Lagrangian domain using Abaqus/Explicit. I never have used CFD so no idea. Any comments much appreciated!

I was wondering what are the major differences between 1-Eulerian-Lagrangian and 2-co-simulation coupling Abaqus CFD and either of Explicit or Standard modules? and when to use which of them?

Plus, does Abaqus offer any other additional techniques other than Coupled Eulerian or CFD to handle fluid-solid interaction problems?

Thanks a lot!!

A

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Hello, I am trying to learn this myself. I got the impression that co-simulation is more for static boundaries. There is also SPH (smoothed particle hydrodynamics (?)) which I've seen been used for bird impacting turbine blades. I think the SPH is particularly good for very violent flows. I also got the impression that CEL is easiest to get working (not perfected yet...).

This is a very interesting topic. I do not want to hijack your thread but you might find it interesting. I made an example model using CEL but the results seem strange.

Link

Has anyone in the forum any hands-on experience with this type of analysis?

/S