Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

about alternator amp outage and fuel consumption

Status
Not open for further replies.

lengarden

Automotive
Jun 7, 2010
AU
g'day team,

hey i'm a rank novice with a maybe silly question?

not knowing anything about altenator amperage output and the fuel consumption of a vehicle i need to ask a question?

if one where to take an extra 2amps above what is used in the normal opperation of a car, how much extra fuel would say a 1300cc 4 cyl' motor use driving the altenator to supply that extra power?

me assuming here that the larger a motor gets the less the impact of supplying that extra 2 amps?

i have tried googles seeking some answer with no luck, the question comes out of statement made on another forum about a massive use of extra fuel to provide that 2 amps of power.

many thanks in advance for any help.

len

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

thanks compositepro,

i can see that 24 watts is around 1/3 of a horsepower is that right?

but not going to be able to go further as i have no idea how much fuel that much horsepower might use in the everyday application of a motor cars use?

len

Typicall when cruising a car uses 10 or 15 hp. So roughly you'd expect an increase in fuel consumption of about 0.3%, if the alternator were 100% efficient.

Alternators aren't 100% efficient, but oddly enough the engine will be following the Mills line and the alternator would do the same and so is going to be very efficient at generating extra power.

So as a number, much less than 1% difference, but probably a bit more than 0.3%.

Cheers

Greg Locock

New here? Try reading these, they might help FAQ731-376