Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

AC Dual Motor Sync, Ramp Up/Down, Dual Limits... 4

Status
Not open for further replies.

ozdemir23

Structural
Nov 19, 2005
US
Hello. I am in the minority in our company regarding the design of a system that I believe is not as complicated as everyone keeps saying or believing to be true.

First off, I am not an electrical engineer but a structural engineer by education and practical engineer by life.

We have a large mobile frame that moves laterally along a set of parallel tracks. The tracks are separated by about 80 feet. The motion of the frames can be done manually, but the momentum and forces required to stop the frame are so large that we need to control the motion with motorized system. Here in lies the challenge.

Two motors need to operate at the same time (on/off), same speed (synchronized) and have the same inputs for ramping up and ramping down along the tracks. If one motor is not in sync then there must be a fail-safe (shutoff, slowdown, reverse, etc.) to make sure the frame is not twisted.

We had someone say they could design the system to do exactly what we need, but then 8 weeks and several "I'm sorry about the delays" later, we have a system that doesn't do what we need. Here is the current design:

(2) 90VDC motors Bodine 42A-CG Model 4786 (Rpm = 42rpm (need to adjust to max 30rpm); Torque is 580 in-lbs)
(2) Dart Encoders PU-2EQUAD-Z2552 at motor end (extended shaft)
(2) Minarik Drive Units RG60U-PCM (control panel)
(1) EZTOUCH PLC EZP-S6W-RS-PLC-E which includes
.High Speed 2-Counter Module EZIO-4HSCM1 in slot M1
.8 DC Input Module EZIO-8DCI in slot M2
.4 Analog Input, 4 Analog output (Voltage) Module EZIO-4ANI4ANOV in slot M3
.4 Isolated Relay output Module EZIO-4RLO in slot M4
.24 Volt Power Supply
Source is 120v

This design does the following:
.Syncs motors to prevent frame from twisting by counting pulses and comparing

We asked for the design to do the following: