Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

AC location

Status
Not open for further replies.

badoumba

Computer
Jan 12, 2010
BE
Hi experts,

I am a CFD consultant and I have a customer who studies birds flights. For one of the 3D model we have (a very specific and unusual flight configuration of the bird), we know where is the center of mass. But we are now looking for a way to determine the torque in the 3 axis generated by this very disymmetric configuration. For this, we first need to determine first where could be located the aerodynamic center - which can't be done analyticaly considering the complexity and the specific wings retractation profile (the cord ratio rule is simply not applicable here)

My approcah is currently to trace one of the torque value for consecutive arbitrary points along the length of the bird and for various angle of attacks. Location of the AC should then coincide with non-changing value point. I would like first to know if this approach makes sense to you? If not, is there a practical way to determine it so I can reproduce the experiment digitally?

Thanks in advance for any support.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

given that the aerodynamic profiles of the bird's wings can change, i think the AC can change (rather than be "invariant").

if you know the CG of the bird, and if you know the inertial state of the bird (straight and level flight?) then you know where the AC is. if the bird is pitching then you know the AC is not in line with the CG.

another day in paradise, or is paradise one day closer ?

Dear rb,