ACI CODE fpy vs fpu Chapter 18.7

Status
Not open for further replies.

LakeNormanTiger

Civil/Environmental
Feb 10, 2004
US
Friends,

I am a relatively new engineer, assigned to train some new engineers prestress design (Get them up to speed on basics). Currently we are reviewing flexural design and using the strain compatiability process.

We are at the point of choosing a value for "gamma,p" Factor for prestressing tendon. In ACI-318 18.7.2 you are given different values with respect to the fpy/fpu ratio. I was told to use a ratio of 0.85 for fpy/fpu and the subsequent value for gamma,p is 0.4. One of my resourcefull new hires went throught the PCA Notes on ACI-318(pg. 24-24) and they use a ratio = 0.9 for there ratio of fpy/fpu which has a value of 0.28 for gamma,p. At this point I am at a loss.

My understanding is that the fpu term is the ultimate value at the top of the stress strain curve. I have always called it yield strength. Because once you pass this point the material looses its elastic ability. fpy, to me, is a built in safety factor. This ratio keeps you from going near the fpu value.

So here I guess is my question. Why are there two different values for fpy/fpu (0.85 and 0.9) that the code gives values for gamma,p? Why not just one? I know there are two types of strands that are used (low lax and stress relieved), but I thought we are just looking at yeild strengh. Why should this ratio be different between the two types of strands if they have the same yield strength?

Also, am I missing the bigger picture? What am I overlooking so that A)I know a little more, and B) I can teach these new engineers correctly.

Thanks in advance for any help you can give.

LakeNormanTiger

Replies continue below

Recommended for you