Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Addendum Balancing and Center Distances of Multi Stage Epicyclic Gear Train 4

Status
Not open for further replies.

RANorrisPE

Mechanical
Jan 20, 2015
US
Hi all!

I've been doing some digging, and haven't been able to locate a resource to help with my question. I'm still new to epicyclic gear design, so thank you for your patience!

My company is working on a three-stage epicyclic gearbox with all three stages sharing the same ring gear. We are using GearTrax to help with the gear design, but I am running into a couple areas that I am uncertain about and no one within my company is either. I am profile shifting the addendum to thicken the teeth on the sun gears, and negative shifting all of the planets by an equal amount to maintain the center distance and to prevent undercutting. My problem comes at the ring gear - to maintain equal center distance as the sun and planet, I would have to add to the ring gear. I believe this may cause two problems, first that positive addendum of an internal gear may lead to more undercutting, and second, that each stage would require a different amount of profile shift.

As it currently stands, the center distance difference of the ring gear vs the planet/sun is about .30mm and 0.20mm on the first and second stage respectively (in the clearance/positive direction as in there is more "clearance"). If I force geartrax to use the planet/sun center distance, it calculates a contact ratio still in the 1.8 range for each. My colleagues are ok with this, but I have not convinced myself that this is an acceptable practice, but I cannot find an alternative.