Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Adjusting line thickness when printing to a PDF

Status
Not open for further replies.

mmdiver

Mechanical
Jun 20, 2012
US
When I print a drawing file to a PDF, the lines are too thick to see the details in certain areas; it just looks like a black box. How do I change the thickness of lines that get printed to a PDF? I am 99% positive this is a setting in Pro/E, not Adobe.

PS. I am working with PRO/E 5.0

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Getting Pro/E to correctly create a PDF directly is a bit like teaching a pig to sing. It's a waste of time and annoys the pig. I have been creating PDFs by the same indirect technique for about 20 years (how long have PDF's been around?). Print to a postscript file and convert it to PDF. All the "normal" (for Pro/E) print settings work including pen table files, etc.

For some unknown reason PTC decided to give PDF creation a completely different user interface than any other kind of printing. To make it work properly you will have to go through the save a copy menu (not the little icon thingy) and make all the correct settings including stroke all fonts and all kinds of other unexplained stuff. You need to do this every time, it doesn't remember settings and there are no config variables available to control it. You do need to set the config option pen_table_file and have it point to one just for PDF creation as the units seem to completely different than any other plotter. Once you have it all figured out you need to record a mapkey to make it repeatable.

It will still screw up some drawings so you're better off just printing to postscript files and converting.

----------------------------------------

The Help for this program was created in Windows Help format, which depends on a feature that isn't included in this version of Windows.