Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Advice for a Young Structural Engineer

Status
Not open for further replies.

fromtherafters

Structural
Apr 8, 2014
US
I am a structural engineer early in my career and recently made a switch from building design to bridge design. I am finding it difficult adjusting to the new culture of bridge design and I am looking for some advice. With a few projects under my belt at my new company, I am finding the trend is to obtain an example set of plans, reports and/or calculations from the client and copy the format, details, materials or design approach. While I was on the building side, we never copied example plans or calculations.

Has anyone else found this to be typical of the bridge design sector or may this just be the culture of the company? Any input is appreciated. Thank you in advance.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Road and rail bridge projects move s-l-o-w-l-y. They get all freaked out when they have a deadline for a small bridge design in a year's time. In the building world, your whole project will be built this time next year. They are also super conservative. My old bridge design boss told me to design to 12ksi for all steel work.

There are innovative bridge firms out there. Schlaich Bergermann do nice work from time to time in this area, but its usually in pedestrian footbridges. HNTB have a small division within a division which do good work. Departments of Transportation are tough clients.

Notwithstanding the above, I still love bridges. If I could choose I would only do architectural footbridges, but they are inherently cool.

My experience is that this is the bridge world. Very prescriptive, very "paint-by-numbers". You may run across the truly innovative project once or twice in your career, or you may rise up high enough that you are more on the conceptual planning side of projects....but by in large, many of the projects are very simplistic and conservative.