Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Advice for entering the industry 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

dylanc54

Chemical
Dec 19, 2015
NZ
Hi all.

I'm a chemical/materials engineering student going into my third year. I'm wondering how I can improve my chances of getting a job in the petroleum industry (preferably offshore).

I have a few extra classes in my timetable. What would be some good classes to take?
I was thinking of doing a graduate diploma in science in some field such as geophysics. (one year). Should I do this or would I be better off just starting work?
I was also thinking of doing a taught Master's in petroleum engineering by distance learning (since petroleum eng isn't offered in my country) which would take about four years.

Is this a sound plan? What can I do to improve it?
Will the skills I learn still be useful if petroleum doesn't work out and I have to enter a different industry, such as mining?

I'm also interested in whether or not any extracurricular activities (not expensive) would help my chances.

Cheers guys.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

BigInch said:
Do you know a petroleum company that is hiring offshore engineers right now?

No, but I still have a few years before I would actually finish any of these qualifications. That's also the reason why I'm concerned as to the job prospects outside of petroleum engineering such as mining/energy.

Probably 4-6 years. Are you saying that I shouldn't do petroleum? What else would you recommend? I don't really want to finish chemE then start making fertiliser for the rest of my days...