advice needed on revision control

Status
Not open for further replies.

hobbs101

Mechanical
Aug 1, 2012
GB
Hi All

I'm a freelance engineer working on small design projects (typically <100 designed parts). Projects are generally industrial machines that sell in small numbers. With each sale of a machine, design improvements are made.

I'm looking to devise a simple revision control system. I use Autodesk Inventor. No PLM/MRP system.

I understand from other posts on this forum the rules on form/function/fit. For me that will generally mean that whenever I modify a part, it's part number will change. I'm happy with that.

I'm keen to have the part number the same as the (root) drawing number, i.e. if the part is P-100-12301, then the first released revision of the drawing will be P-100-12301-A. (I'm happy to reconsider this if it makes life a lot easier!).

I won't state drawing revision levels on sub-assy and GA drawings, as I understand this is not necessary as revision levels should be interchangeable.

So, when I modify a part that changes form/function/fit I change the part/drawing number. Does this then mean I need to update the BOM's on the sub-assy drawing and the GA? I guess if the part change changes the FFF of the sub-assy then that also needs to change assembly/drawing number, and so on.

Thanks.

Hobbs101
Mechanical Design Engineer

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I've just seen post thread781-380214 which asks a similar question.

Seems like a lot of work. If I have one small change at the part level that affects interoperability at the top level, then all sub-assy drawings have to be modified up the chain. But, I guess there's no way round this from the control point of view! In practice, I guess a number of changes might be included in an update, thereby reducing the number of times the top level number is changed.

Btw, why do you go from -1 to -3, missing out -2?

My intended scheme is