Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Advice on Aeronautical Engineering Course

Status
Not open for further replies.

woods17

Jan 13, 2015
GB
I am now a 2nd year student studying Aeronautical Engineering. Heavy going!
Someone tell me it can only get better please.

Finding it a bit of a slog at minute. Hoping the working environment is better than this.
Surely the working environment is not as intense as getting this degree!?

Anyone completed an Aeronautical Engineering or similar recently. Any luck with employment. If so how,s it going? Is it everything you expected?

Is there plenty of work out there or is it really hard to get the start we all crave?

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Some aspects of 'real world' engineering is better/easier than university studies.

For instance, when you are working, your focus is usually much smaller (structures, aero, thermo) with some overlap. We tend to become experts in a fairly small part of the overall field and that is what you get familiar with and get good at.

This makes sense, though, since you don't really know what you might be doing when you graduate. I'll be honest, if I had based my job preference on which classes I enjoyed the most, I would really want to be a propulsion/thermo guy. Frankly, my structures classes sucked eggs. As an actual engineer, though, I love doing structures work (most of the time).

However, the difficulties are still there, they are just different. Now, we have to deal with crazy unrealistic schedules (similar to homework deadlines, but they might cost a lot of $$$ if you don't get it done on time), customers with often very unrealistic expectations, and all the issues of dealing with regulating agencies.

The best part is, the pay is better. :)