Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Advice on Choosing Specialization

Status
Not open for further replies.

clauseofsteel

Structural
Feb 5, 2010
NL
Hello,
I have just joined Offshore Engineering Masters in a University. Here we need to choose a specialization. The choices are "Bottom Fixed Offshore Structures" and "Floating Offshore Structures". I am confused as to which to take. I have been given contradictory advice till now. Some say that I should choose Floating because that is the future but some others say still most structures are fixed. I am also worried since I have a bachelors in Civil Engineering and not mechanical or marine engineering, I would be preferred for jobs involving floating structures. What is your advice to me. Are floating structures the way forward ? are all shallow water oil reserves done with ?

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

OK. You have been given contradictory advice because there is no clear answer for this one. No one has all the experience in every area and no one has a crystal ball. But here is my tuppence worth.

Firstly, I think I depends very much on which area of the world you will be working. Some areas are well developed with lots of infrastructure (e.g North Sea) other areas are not (e.g Arctic). Secondly, think about the water depth of the developments completed there. North Sea is shallow (typically up to 200m), but offshore Norway ranges from shallow to deep (up to and beyond 1000m).

I work mostly in the North Sea which is a 'mature' basin so the fixed infrastructure is in place. All the structures I work on are 'Bottom Fixed', mostly the production is either tied back or goes to a new FPSO.