Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Eng-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Advice on potential career change into HVAC/Energy Engineering

Status
Not open for further replies.

KMenges

Mechanical
Jan 14, 2015
US
Hello all, I'm exploring a potential career change from my current field into the HVAC design/Energy analysis world and would appreciate any input from those of that already work in or have worked in this field. What type of job do you have? What kind of daily activities or "engineering" are you doing? Do you travel or are you always in an office? Honestly anything you want to share is much appreciated. My background is in rotating equipment/reliability and pumping systems and I do have my PE (Thermal Fluids) but before I invest a ton of time and effort into training or certification I'd like to get some real feedback from other engineers on their experiences. Thanks again in advance :)

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

If this is what you want to do, just get a job doing it. You have an engineering background and are experienced with pumping systems, so you can be useful at the get go. When you get into a firm, then you can take seminars, and classes on their dime. Your current employer probably wont pay for it.

Your in the office for the most part, and get out of the office maybe twice a week, for a meeting or site visit etc. I switched from the power side to HVAC, and what i liked about it was I was working on local jobs that I would drive by sometimes, instead of power plants in China.

knowledge is power