Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Advice Regarding Early Career Directional Decision 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

cm566

Mechanical
Aug 21, 2013
US
I graduated with my BSME about 1.5 years ago and took a job with a large company. It's an operational role with a limited amount of technical depth. I think that I would rather be working in design/test/R&D, but I've been given an interesting proposition. Normally at my company you are expected to stay in a role for 2 years and then find something new. My boss has approached me with an offer to make me and one other engineer more senior team members (the current team structure is flat, everyone equal reporting directly to the same boss). The primary reason for this is to increase operational quality and also to facilitate future expansion of the organization. I was approached because I am a top performer and just generally more engaged than others. My boss understands that this might not be a totally desirable role for me, but is willing to support me pursuing technical interests as much as is possible, and will give me a decent raise (more than I will be able to make job hopping to another team in the company).

My concern is that I'm getting away from the technical side of things where I think I want to be. Nonetheless, I think this is a unique opportunity. I'm 24 years old with a little under 2 years of post-graduation experience, am I really at risk of getting pigeonholed into less technical managerial/operations roles by taking this job? I have a really good boss and right now it looks like the pay will end up being mid-high 70ks (which feels like a lot to me given my relative inexperience).

Replies continue below

Recommended for you