Advise: which degree fits best with aerospace engineering? 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

Somek

Aerospace
May 26, 2015
ES
Hi there,

I am currently studying aerospace engineering. Recently, I have been offered to take a double degree in the same time, which can be chosen between:
A) Aerospace engineering + Industrial engineering (which would be similar to mechanical and I find interesting)
B) Aerospace engineering + Mathematics (it certainly gives a different point of view, far from the conventional ones)

I have always wanted to work in the space industry, so could you possibly help me choose between those two options? Any opinion and thought would be welcome. And, if possible, add a brief explanation!

Cheers,

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I agree with Greg's comment ... there's already too much stuff to be learnt at undergrad level.

that said, I might go with option 2 ... math is always useful if you're doing analysis.

that said, if you like option 1 then why not; it's not like any choice will direct your life from here on ...

another day in paradise, or is paradise one day closer ?

Just remember that NOTHING is cast in concrete. I graduated EE and spent about 8 yrs doing EE related work, but digressed from that big time afterwards, to the point where I probably can't do much beyond dinking with Karnaugh maps.

TTFN
faq731-376
7ofakss

Need help writing a question or understanding a reply? forum1529

Of course I can. I can do anything. I can do absolutely anything. I'm an expert!
There is a homework forum hosted by engineering.com:

Given the two choices, I would pick none.

But if given my choice, and I could do it over again, it would probably be EE or EEE whatever they go by now.
There is more similarity to Aerospace and EE from a hardware standpoint than you may think (from my prospective).

The other fields where a 2nd degree would probably be helpful is: