Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Air cylinder friction

Status
Not open for further replies.

johannestoger

Bioengineer
Mar 27, 2013
SE
Hi fellow engineers,

I'm a medical imaging engineer way outside my comfort zone, and I hope you can give some insight.

We're trying to generate fast, accurate pulses of water in a 1" pipe. We want a peak velocity of 0.6 m/s and a pulse lenght of 300 ms. Our current idea is to take a 1" diameter air cylinder of the right length (about 100 mm or 4"), and connect an electric servo to the shaft. I found air cylinders with removable end caps, so getting the water in and out shouldn't be a problem.

XOM8vj4.jpg

We're pumping against a low pressure, at most 0.1 bar (1.5 psi) including acceleration, and it's easy to find a servo that can handle that.

However, the friction in the cylinder is a big unknown - what can I expect there? So to give you some concrete questions:

1. What is the typical static friction of the seals in a 1" air cylinder?
2. Can you estimate the dynamic friction when it's moving at 0.6 m/s?
3. What can I expect friction-wise when putting water in the cylinder? The sales reps at a major pneumatics company said "it will probably OK as long as it's stainless steel". The warranty is gone of course. What do you guys think?
4. Do you think I could roll my own using a 1" PVC pipe and a piston sealed with a simple O-ring?

Thanks for reading this far, your input is very welcome!

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I'll give out my 2 cents.