Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Aluminum Pipe Design 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

kxa

Structural
Nov 16, 2005
US
I am trying to size aluminum pipes for spanning between aluminum posts. The connection at post is by welding. It seems like the allowable stresses change when we use weld. According to AA manual, the material affected by welding for this particular alloy, has less than half (5.5 ksi) the allowable stress. I am new to aluminum design. Any help or guidance is greatly appreciated.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

that is correct, only near the weld. It's been a while since I designed with aluminum but I believe it is for a certain distance from the weld, not necessarily at the welded section only.

Well if you think about it any type of substance is going to have an effect by it's environment. Plus aluminum by it's self is not as strong as an alloy with another metal, espically when it's tempered. You auto matically weaken when you het it up again, unless it is tempered.

kxa,

Your pipe probably is something like Aluminium 6061-T6. The code "6061" specifies the alloy, which contains silicon and magnesium, and is heat treatable. The code "T6" specifies the heat treatment. The material has been solution heat treated and artificially aged. I do not understand the process. I am just copying this information out of an old Machinery's Handbook.

Most practical aluminium alloys either are heat treated or work hardened. When you weld them, you weaken them. This effect is far more significant than it would be if you used cold rolled steel, which as far as I know is just work hardened a bit.