Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Ammonia gas detection system 3

Status
Not open for further replies.

spencer1515

Electrical
Jun 16, 2020
US
Hello! I am an engineering intern who is working at a natural gas power plant this summer. One of my first projects is centered around finding a detection and alarm system for the plant's ammonia pits. The two aqueous ammonia tanks are each in their own rectangular concrete pits next to one another. The pits are roughly 12 feet in width, 30 feet in length, and 10 feet deep with the storage tanks poking out. There is a catwalk above the tanks. I need three sensors and an alarm system to let us know if there is a leak and to continually monitor the area. One sensor in one pit, one sensor in the other, and one on the catwalk. I would like to do a good job on this but I do not really know where to start. I was not given that much information on this and I think I have free reign to come up with something. It would be ideal to 1)continuously monitor the area, 2)alert to a leak in area and 3)connect back to the control room's DCS when the alarm does go off.

I have researched the types of sensors and I think an infared one would be best. It needs to be something that can be installed and then not have to worry about it. It should be durable since it will be outside and it should last a long time ideally. Something that does not have to be calibrated regularly. I am unsure whether I will need a controller. In the event of a leak, having the controller near the tanks' area does not make sense. Is a controller necessary?

If anyone has any advice whatsoever or knows someone who has done similar projects please reach out and let me know. I would really appreciate it.

Sincerely,