Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Another CO2 question 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

boilerdoc

Mechanical
Jan 23, 2002
Hallo everybody,
I got also a question similar to the thread of tangela from 02/13/03.
My problem is: I would like to separate CO2 from flue gases to be utilized as fertilizer in green houses. This method is common pratice with natural gas combustion. What about combustion of oil, coal or biomass? Beside CO2, N and small amount of CO and NOx there is nothing left when burning Natural gas.With other fuels there are probably a lot of other chemicals and aromates which might influence the taste of vegetables. Is there any feasable method of selective separation and release of CO2??
Please keep in mind that I am a boiler guy and no chemist, so understandable answers are highly apreciated.

Thanks

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I'm not an expert in the CO2 separation processes using amine based absorption solutions but I am curious about the fertilization methodology. I have heard of waste heat from large boiler/power installations being used for greenhouses located close by. I also recall reading of the use of CO2 enriched air being used in greenhouses; plants absorbing CO2 and releasing O2. If the latter method is referred to, I assume that the greenhouse air is only CO2 enriched to a certain degree while maintaining a safe atmosphere for workers. Then the gases from a boiler/power station might be used as the CO2 source without a complete separation of the CO2.