Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Antenna installation stress issues 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

SteveAero

Aerospace
Apr 28, 2019
IL
Hi,

This is a follow on to thread2-122412.

I am installing a SATCOM antenna on the top fuselage of a pressurized commercial jet. I am relatively new to this field, and have the following questions that I hope the experts can advise me on:

1. The doubler used to reinforce the skin, shown in the Eastin report attached by SparWeb in the abovementioned post, seems to be in the middle of the skin panel, not picking up on frames/stringers. Is this to avoid picking up global loading from these items? What will this sudden increase in stiffness do to the pressurized panel when it flexes?

2. Also, what about the out-of-plane loads induced by suction pressure on the radar assembly? This can be quite large, for example for a passenger jet travelling at altitude, and using the formula F= 0.5 x rho x v^2 x Cd x S. These out-of-plane loads are now being reacted in bending by the skin/doubler combo via an ineffective load path. In your experience, did such 'flat-ish' SATCOM doublers require more backup structure than a 'simple' doubler?

3. I was thinking of installing local intercostals between stringers to take the out-of-plane loads. I'm concerned however about the stiffness of such a structure. How will this affect the pressurized skin; will it act as a mini frame, splitting the pressurized panel in half, or will it just flex with the skin?

Looking forward to your responses.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Hi Steve,

1)
Eastin only provides the basics with simplified examples. Combining the doubler with the stringer or frame, or spanning 2 bays, would obviously complicate the load paths.

2)