Anti-Roll bar in 6X6 Trakker 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

mohammad_444_0o

Mechanical
Jan 31, 2018
IR
Hello dear friends,
I'm studying about the "Anti-Roll Bar" (ARB) in heavy trucks; I have downloaded multiple catalogues from All of the models have anti-roll bar both on front and rear axles, EXCEPT the 6X6 iveco Trakker named (AD / AT 380T38 WH)...! :(
I don't know why???
6X4, 4X2, 4X4, 8X4, 8X8, even similar vehicles from other companies have both front and rear ARB...
I want to know if there is any technical information about "WHEN and in Whcih situation" the Rear anti roll bar can be added to the 6X6 rear axle???
Because the driver tetsted it and has big roll angles

I will be thankful if you guys help

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

My Dad's '58 Chevy had coil springs and a 3-link rear axle (that did not appear in the '59 model). If it had an ARB, it was small. In, er, impromptu testing, I found that the car would easily roll far enough to rest on the outer bump stops, at which point the effective roll stiffness went up far enough to allow more vigorous cornering.

I have read accounts of fleet vehicle buyers being cheated (their words) out of ARBs by suppliers who executed the required tests (e.g. slalom through a line of cones) using a skilled driver who had no apparent difficulty doing so, but then finding their fleet drivers were unhappy with the vehicles' handling in service.

I am not in the vehicle business, but I am not aware of a general specification that specifically requires ARBs. It is, here in The Colonies at least, up to the buyer to specify exactly what is desired, or to require performance tests as mentioned above, with acceptance criteria that indirectly force inclusion of ARBs, or whatever features are required.