Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Anyone familiar with the ROBOTICS INDUSTRY? 3

Status
Not open for further replies.

UncleJess

Mechanical
Jun 15, 2006
US
Hello Everyone,

Does anyone have any experience working with robotics?

I am a mechanical engineer in my early twenties. My career goal (fantasy...) is to work with robotics one day. In college, I loved all of that inverse kinematics and control jazz. I really enjoy all of the involved mathematical analysis and whatnot.

From what I have seen during my first year working in the real world (I am a recent grad. currently designing custom machinery at a machine shop), aside from spaceships and airplanes, it doesn't seem like anyone gets to do long mathematical analyses. Seems like everything is "shoot from the hip".

I hope that this is not the case in the robotics industry? Can anyone who is working or has worked in the robotics industry educate me a bit? Do ME's in the robotics industry get to use any of the fun math behind robotics or do computers handle all of that now? If computers do handle all the analysis, what else is left for ME's to do? Material selection? I guess my main question is, as an ME, what's out there for me to do in the robotics industry?

For all I know, working with robotics may not be my goal after all...

Thank you very much if you have read this far!

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I would think if nothing else ther'd still be work to do in designing the end effectors. I just helped a colleague with this and it was pretty tricky.

(OK that was mostly the fault of the form constraings from the previous design we were replacing but still a challenge)