Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Eng-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Applying for Patent for an Idea

Status
Not open for further replies.

rsbmusicguy

Structural
Mar 21, 2019
US
Hey guys,

I receoently drafted up a conceptual idea I have for a product which will enhance similiar products that are popular in the market. Note I am a structural engineer that designs bridges and buildings but realize that I can apply my skills to general consumer items which I drive my wife crazy complaining about the overall design of some consumer goods...

I am a licensed professional engineer in several states and believe I can provide the technical detils associated with my product including (but not limited to) technical drawings with dimensions and associated assembly details, technical specifications on respective materials/components, design calculations, and enginering sign/seal as necessary - i.e. all the details a manufacturer would need to build my item. This is following the same methodology I apply when designing bridges, buildings, repairs, etc for respective clients.

Ultimately my quesiton is, any of you engineers out there involved in this part of the business? I am assuming after I produce the above details I would have to file a patent application. If any of you can give me a general guide in how to proceed before I embark on the above items it would be great! I searched in my area and it is oversaturated with patent attorneys.

Any help would be great!!!

RSB

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

You don't necessarily need an attorney, but you do need a patent agent. Don't know what else to say but start digging and calling to find someone willing to let you do your own legwork. (My dad was his own agent later in his career. That's where I learned what little I know.)