ASCE 7-02 Wind Calcs - Method 2: All Heights Method 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

aokamura

Structural
Sep 10, 2009
US
Hi,

What are the values of Cp that I can use to analyze the leeward roof (wind direction parallel to ridge) for method 2 MWFRS? Figure 6-6 does not have a table under the leeward column... I'm a structural engineer intern, and this is the first time I've encountered something like this.

Oh, and fyi... h/L < 0.5 with horizontal distance from windward edge between h/2 and h.

Thanks!

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

It is in figure 6-6 in the row for parallel to ridge for all (theta). For the horizontal distance from windward edge, >2h is -0.3, -0.18. So, anything greater distance from the windward edge than twice the height you would use these values. Similar values are given h to 2h, etc.

tadeng,

Thanks for your reply... but what I was asking was, what values of Cp can I use for the leeward roof. I know the windward roof values are given but I'm not sure what to use for the leeward roof.

bmagdalena,

Thanks for the reply. I don't see why there wouldn't be a leeward side, regardless of wind direction? I don't understand why they don't have the Cp values for leeward direction on the roof for wind blowing parallel to the ridge.

I had one last question regarding this topic...

So, if the total horizontal distance from the windward edge is h and the roof is symmetric (equal area on both halves), then the windward and leeward roof pressures will cancel out? Or, do I calculate for the worst combination (i.e. use -0.9 for windward half, -0.18 for leeward half or vice versa)?

Hi Ron,

So would that mean the wind pressure parallel to the ridge would only have one value? Wind pressure normal to the ridge had two values to calculate the total pressure, but the parallel direction has only one pressure acting on it?