Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Asked to lie. 4

Status
Not open for further replies.

UTChemE

Chemical
Dec 19, 2004
US
Greetings all

I have been on my new job almost six months and yesterday I was shocked by my superviser when he asked me to lie and "cover his back" on some results received from some wells that I tested. To make a long story short, he threatened to "take me down with him if I told my superiors". Well, he doesn't know yet but I immediately reported this to my engineering manager and his attitude has also since soured towards me since I told him that I was not going to lose my integrity for him or no one else. My question is does anybody have any advice since I am new to the corporate world?

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

My advice is to document everything and to be up-front about what's going on. My guess is that your supe's already got a well-earned reputation for dishonest, back-stabbing, CYA, unethical behavior and that you'll be vindicated.

The response of your manager is concerning, though. Did you really tell your manager that "...not going to lose my integrity for him or no one else?" Hard to say without being there but that might have come off as a bit threatening to him when (as I understand it), he never asked you to compromise yourself.

Be sure you follow all the policies and procedures to the "T." Don't expect any breaks from these chumps so be sure you don't need them.

It's a bit early for you to start looking for a new job but you might start investigating whether there are other opportunities within your company.

Depending on how things progress, consider going to your HR rep, another management type that you respect, or a mentor if you have one.