Asking for a raise after a year 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

dursunlutfu

Structural
Jun 9, 2018
US
To Experienced Structural Engineers,

I am working at a small structural engineering firm as a project engineer, and deal with the design of residential & commercial mostly wood frame buildings in California. I have been working at this firm for a year now. I get 30$/hr. Most of the projects I go over the budget due to challenges of the projects and my lack of experience. Because I go over the budget at most of the projects, I am hesitant to ask for a raise now even though I put all my energy and effort into my job. My boss has not told me anything about my performance yet, no feedback on that. How would you guys ask for a raise in this scenario ? -- I started studying for PE to increase my value and knowledge in structural engineering.

Thanks !

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Maybe you should be focusing on the the work you are doing now and resolving the budget issues before studying for your PE.
Once you can get the budget right then you may have some grounds for asking for that raise.

Regards
Ashtree
"Any water can be made potable if you filter it through enough money"

You should ask your boss for a few minutes of his time to discuss your performance. It’s important to get feedback at this stage of your career. Feel out the conversation...if it’s a positive review, it might be a good time to also ask for a modest raise.

We're in Arizona, where the cost of living is a hell of a lot less, and we start new grads at more than $30 an hour. Now residential wood frame buildings tend to be commodities and the bottom line is king, but if your performance is satisfactory, you deserve a raise. They're not hiring someone to replace you for that salary.