ASME section IX PWHT Stainless steel type 410

Status
Not open for further replies.

LouisLac

Materials
May 5, 2012
CA
Hi,

If the WPS is qualified with a temperature of 760C can the PWHT be carried out at 595C without re-qualifying the WPS?
Note: there is a toughness requirement in the contract.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

LouisLac,
Our continued assistance on this forum is based on members doing everything they can to answer their own questions and when they have exhausted all avenues they come here and we try to assist.
You will not learn anything if you do not try to dig into the codes / standards yourself.
Go to QW 407 - that leads you to QW 407.1 and QW 407.2
There is your answer.

Hi DekDee,

I have been a welding engineer for a long time and know the ASME code and I have been using this website for many years. My question is to compare my interpretation with other people.

To me QW-407.1(a)(5) means that WPS can be used with a PWHT at 595C

Also, I have read the different interpretations already answered in the committee's interpretation code but all this leaves room for some confusion.

If you do not have interpretation on this point your comment was not necessary.

By the way, I already mentioned that QW-407.2 does not apply.

Thank you for your understanding,

Louis

Louis,
You have a P8 material so QW 407.1 (a) is not applicable

(a) For P‐Numbers 1 through 6 and 9 through 15F materials,
the following postweld heat treatment conditions
apply:

You have a P8 material so QW 407.1 (b) is applicable

(b) For all other materials, the following postweld heat
treatment conditions apply:
(1) no PWHT
(2) PWHT within a specified temperature range

So, a change in temperature is acceptable.

As notch toughness is called for QW 407.2 now comes into play as a Supplementary Essential variable.
However :
This variable does not apply to a WPS qualified
for welding base metals that are assigned to P-No. 8
P-Nos. 21 through 26, and P-Nos. 41 through 49.