Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

At a crossroads and would appreciate advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

jball1

Mechanical
Nov 4, 2014
US
I am an engineer with 9 years’ experience all at a large defense contractor. My career moved in the direction of increasing technical depth until about a year and a half ago. At that point, I took on a role where I was part-time technical and part-time in an interfacing with the customer role. The interfacing role was a good opportunity that brought a lot of visibility, but I found that it was quickly eclipsing all of my technical work, and I became worried that my technical skills were going to stagnate.

Nine months into that role, an unsolicited opportunity came along to work directly for one of the company directors in a temporary position as a project lead. I turned down the position at first, but was encouraged by my management to take it (once in a lifetime opportunity, etc). I have been in that role for the past nine months. I have seen this position as an opportunity to experience the management track, and ultimately choose between management and technical.