Automotive industry 3D Design policy in SolidWorks 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

MateuszM

Mechanical
May 18, 2014
PL
Hello,

I have a question about design policy in automotive industry when it comes to the 3D Design.

I work as a CAD Engineer in the company which asprates to be automotive - it means we are transforming from small garage manufacturer to something bigger and much more organised.

We use SolidWorks to create all the 3D data and it's no problem, but recently we have employed new Design Director who has some experience with automotive industry (as far as I know Ford, VW), but he is not a mechanical engineer, but designer and he works in Rhino.

To the point now - he claims that it is common in automotive industry to base all parts from complete assembly origin point (VW takes it in the middle of front wheels rotation axis for example) and now I should model all new parts not starting from point 0,0,0 of new part file, but for example - from -1200,500,350 and then it's already on it's place when added to the assembly and mated with the origin planes.

For me it's against how the mates in SW work, but maybe I'm the one who is wrong?

I think it's OK to have common origin point of whole vehicle assembly, but relaying on the plane mates instead of standard SW mates makes no sense for me.

What is your opinion about it?

Thank you in advance.
Best Regards.
Mateusz

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Won't work. For example, if you draw a wheelbolt (silly but obvious example) it could be in any of 5 locations, in the local coordinate system, and then if a different model (say the GT) is at a different ride height at design then it could be somewhere else.

However the answer, as always, is to pick up the awfully heavy phone and ask your customer.

Having said that shifting the whole thing and rotating it is not a big job, so you can do it his way.

Cheers

Greg Locock

New here? Try reading these, they might help FAQ731-376