Avoid Job Hopping 12

Status
Not open for further replies.

ptb5021

Mechanical
Jul 16, 2014
US
Hi all,

New to the forums, so forgive me if this has been discussed. I saw a few threads about this general topic, but still wanted to start my own.

I graduated May 2013 with my MS MechE degree. I've had two jobs since graduating: DoD-related position, which I left after ~9 months because I felt that there was too much Project Management involved and too little technical work. Next job, which I've been at for ~5 months, is involved in warehousing/robotics. Here too, I am finding that there is too much Project Management involved and too little technical work.

Both industries - DoD & Robotics I find to be interesting, but have been looking for more technical/research work as opposed to simply managing projects. I understand that new-hires will get stuck with mundane tasks, but looking at some of the more senior engineers, they certainly aren't doing more technical work either.

Being out of school for only a year, and getting ready to look for a new position, how do I avoid job hopping? I am confident that I can defend my position in seeking new opportunities, but don't want to fall into a third job that isn't challenging. I was significantly more prepared during the interviewing process for the position which I am currently in, and felt that I asked very specific questions relative to mechanical design. However, expectations from interview have not panned out and are not in the foreseeable future.

Advice from anybody who has been through this before?

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I find it hard to believe they're putting someone fresh out of school into project management positions, particularly if they have no technical work experience other than school.

Perhaps what you consider project management is simply the usual work required and you have nothing to compare it to?

Dan - Owner
Footwell%20Animation%20Tiny.gif