Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

B31.8 Ends and NFPA 54 Begins?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Paulk04

Chemical
Jan 6, 2011
CA
Greetings All,

I'm a Canadian engineer and I'm working on a natural gas pipeline metering station in North Dakota. I'm not very familiar with ND code requirements for pipeline installations (ASME B31.8). I've been asked if a PSV/PRV for protecting low pressure fuel gas piping from a regulator failure is required from a design or code perspective. This fuel gas piping is only for a building heater in the metering station. I'm not sure if the relief device is required from a code perspective and I'm not sure if B31.8 still applies at the failure location.

A 40 PSIG fuel gas line (with two upstream regulators in series, set at 100 PSIG and 40 PSIG, and a PSV set at 150 PSIG) is used to feed a building heater via a service regulator (set at 1/2 PSI) to an appliance regulator (set at 7" WC). I've been challenged to show in the code where it says that we do not require a PSV or PRV for over pressure protection from a regulator failure between the service regulator and the appliance regulator (the appliance regulator is only designed to handle pressures up to 2.5 PSI). The service regulator has a built internal relief mechanism but the regulator manufacturer says it is not fit for complete regulator failure.

B31.8 points to NFPA 54 in section 802.12 clause (c) for piping beyond the meter assembly (or the outlet of the service regulator where no meter exists).