Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Beam- Column connection advise needed

Status
Not open for further replies.

SATM

Civil/Environmental
Aug 5, 2024
US
i am relatively new to str design with steel. i have uploaded an image to aid with my question. i have to design a 2 level small office building, ground fl and first fl. for the image, on the left is a part of the building plan, and "design A" is the beam col detail im considering, the beam bottom flange resting directly on the CS of the column. my thinking is that a continuous beam resting directly on the column will have excellent load transfer and maybe simplify the connection or atleast. for the connection im thinking an end plate welded to top of column and bolts tru the bottom flange and the end plate. problem is i have only ever seen this connection in an image once and never in practice.
desing B is the version i see commonly in steel structures, the way the beam is connected to the column. an end plate on the end of beam ad bolted to each left and right flange of column. im thinking for this 1. the beams would need to be segmented (fit between clear spans of columns) and the connection would become more complex (more bolts and plates needed) and it seems loads will all be transfered tru bolt shear, and maybe some plate friction. it does not seem as economical, simple or stable as Design A. but again thats just my (not so experienced) judgement, and i do see it in the upper floor of most steel frames.
my question is is design A even a valid option, and if so is it as i assumed, more stable and higher load bearing than design B ?

https://files.engineering.com/getfile.aspx?folder=144efc2d-6947-4b2e-87a1-5838f02664fe&file=str.PNG
Replies continue below

Recommended for you

In my experience connection A is very common and economical. Especially when you have cantilever beams at the top level of your columns. That goes for all types of projects. Commercial and industrial.