Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Bearing/Rolling Cam analysis tools 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

eedave

Electrical
Feb 25, 1999
US
I am an electrical engineer who has been asked to come up with a mathematical model to simulate the mechanics of one of my company's products. The product is called an expansion chuck and it operates on a cam like principle. The chuck consists of a center hub and three "jaws" - the jaws are supported on the hub by a series of rollers. When a torque is transmitted via the jaws, the rollers ride up a ramp feature on the center hub thus causing the jaws to expand out. I want to come up with a model that predicts the expansion force as a function of actuating torque.<br>
My guess is that the math involved is similar to that used to predict starting torques in bearings.<br>
I would appreciate any thoughts on:<br>
1. Mechanical engineering text books or other references that<br>
discuss bearings, cams or other related subjects.<br>
2. Simulation software that would be useful for implementing such a model.<br>
<br>
Thanks in advance<br>
eedave

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I'm not completely clear on the geometry that you've described. But when I was in college 25 years ago, the textbooks that I would have used would have been "Vector Mechanics for Engineers- Dynamics" and "Vector Mechanics for Engineers - Dynamics", both by Beer and Johnston, (McGraw-Hill). I don't know if these books are still in publication, but they're excellent. The people who studied mechanisms used "Kinematic Analysis of Mechanisms" by Shigley. This was part of the "McGraw-Hill Series in Mechanical Engineering". I didn't take the course, but I think the book is probably pretty good. As an electrical engineer, you probably worked a lot with vector algebra, and these books shouldn't be too difficult.

&gt; 1. Mechanical engineering text books or other <br>
&gt; references that discuss bearings, cams or other <br>