Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Best machine for cutting packaging foam for a small business? 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mark172

Aerospace
Aug 26, 2008
US
I run a small business on the side that sells motorized astrophotography mounts. Cutting our product's packaging foam by hand is a pain (and quality is inconsistent between techs), but ordering custom cut foam is too expensive. I'm a mechanical engineer by day and have broad (albeit mostly shallow) experience with various cutting methods, but I am a bit stumped as to whether laser, waterject, or hotwire is the right fit here. Laser seems to be too expensive, requires a lot of tuning, doesn't do well with deep cuts, not to mention ventilation and safety systems are a must. Waterjet is pricey and messy. I'm leaning towards a two axis CNC router/hotwire machine. I'm looking at cutting ~1000 pieces of foam per year. My preliminary budget is $2k. Not afraid of the DIY route if it's the best option.

Does anyone have professional experience in this arena? What kind of machine would be the right fit here? Specific model suggestions would be icing on the cake. Thanks all for sharing your knowledge.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Is appearance of the packaging a concern?

Any reason to not use expanding foam instead of cutting blocks? Either the foam or the part is wrapped in plastic, the foam activated, and the box shut until expansion is complete.

I've used the bags like this. Either adding the part after some expansion has taken place, or using wooden supports removed from the bottom after expansion is finished and before everything is taped shut.

Yeah, the foam-in-place solutions are inelegant for sure.

What's the budget work out to, $2 per item? I don't see you finding a retail solution for that cost.