Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

best practices in multibody model debugging

Status
Not open for further replies.

pietro82

Automotive
Mar 14, 2012
IT
Hi all,

I'm quite new in multibody modeling and I spent the most of time in debugging my model, trying to simplify as much as possibile the model. Is there any systematic way or best practices to debug big multibody models?

thanks

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

To be honest I tend to start with simple models, that work (or are at least easy to debug), and then add complexity. You might also want to break the system up into subsystems and build a rig to test each subsystem (that is almost the same as the first sentence, depending on your definition of rig).

As an example with a car I'd start by making sure each suspension works on a K&C test before assembling the suspension to a body and running full vehicle tests with tires. Then I'd add the powertrain and so on. Then I'd replace the smooth road with a 3d road surface. At some point I might need aero, so I'd start with still air, and then add a crosswind. Then I'd replace linear elastic engine mounts with hydraulic ones. And so on and so forth.

Also a modal analysis is a very useful check on your model.

Cheers

Greg Locock

New here? Try reading these, they might help FAQ731-376

It's been a few years, but I have to agree with Greg. Subsystems behaving in isolation (or in a simple test harness) is the first goal. Then connecting/merging them is the next. My example is building a complete working engine/transmission model (bit by bit). Then gradually moving it into place into a vehicle model, finally connecting the shafts. Building a big model in one go is a no-no.