Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Best Way to Connect Shell-Solid Mesh for Hopper

Status
Not open for further replies.

Doodler3D

Mechanical
Jan 20, 2020
US
Hi,

I'm still learning FEA, I was keen to know the best way to connect a shell-solid mesh for a hopper. The sheet metal hopper section is a shell, whereas the flange is a solid. Does the shell mesh need a foundation that is around 2 to 3 layers thick? Any good books to find more information on this?

Thank you!

Screenshot_44_pdymak.png

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

if the flat member is 3D elements, these have only Fx, Fy, Fz freedoms at the nodes. whereas 2D plates have all 6 dofs.

if you connect to a line at the edge of the 3D plate, you're making a pinned joints (with no moment coming from the 3D solid plate into the 2D shell) … maybe this is your intention ?

more typically, make an RBE "spider" that picks up multiple layers on the 3D plate and joins to the 2D mid-plane.

another day in paradise, or is paradise one day closer ?

rb1957,

I'm modeling a whole bin vessel, with the flange at the lower end. You mean I should add a rigid element between the outer flange surface (4 elements through flange) and the edge of the hopper? What if the hopper edge was bonded to the surface of the flange? Also would elements from the hopper penetrate the solid flange?

Screenshot_45_mycnwc.png