Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

BESTCOMS_DECS100_11000 - Error "Communication port is not responding"

Status
Not open for further replies.

Giuseppe.Ing

Civil/Environmental
Sep 12, 2024
IT
Hello. I am an engineer working for a company in the energy sector. I need to connect a PC to a Basler Electric AVR to read data. I have connected the PC with a serial cable for RS-232 ports (DB9 connector). When I start the BESTCOMS-100 software and select the COM port, pressing the initialize button gives me an error message: "Communication port is not responding." Do you know how I can solve this? Thank you.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Did you actually try contacting Basler directly?

Since we don't know where you are in the world, click on the "Contact" pulldown menu in the upper right of the webpage and enter the appropriate data.

Converting energy to motion for more than half a century

Does your computer have a native RS232 port? Or are you using an adaptor like a USB to RS232? I have found the older Basler software can be picky about Comm Port numbers, older AVR's and their software would only recognize com ports 1-9.

Go into your Device Manager and verify what port you're using. Check the baud rate, 9600 seems to work best on the older Basler softwares.

If you have a USB adaptor, see what comm port number assignment it has, try setting it to a number lower than 9, and make sure about checking the baud rate.

Several USB adaptors I have tried over the years have not worked as expected, my best luck is with a StarTech USB adaptor, which allows you to assign a comm port number.

Hope that helps, MikeL.

catserveng said:
Does your computer have a native RS232 port? Or are you using an adaptor like a USB to RS232? I have found the older Basler software can be picky about Comm Port numbers, older AVR's and their software would only recognize com ports 1-9.