Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Eng-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Bicycle Materials

Status
Not open for further replies.

Eng2012

Materials
Feb 13, 2017
CA
Hello guys,
I am new to materials engineering and am looking at making a BMX trick bike which is lighter than a steel one and just as strong. Please recommend me materials.
I have been looking at CNT-PPX, and something like polypropelyne.
What would be lighter and as strong or stronger than steel?
I have been mainly looking at carbon nanotubes with PPX.
Preferably just a light plastic like PPX or ABS.
Please help me so I can revolutionize the BMX industry with light bikes.
Thanks

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Current carbon nanotubes won't give a composite more useful than steel or aluminum. I suggest you research continuous carbon fiber reinforced polymer matrix composites which will give a mass advantage over a good metallic. This will be lighter than steel but very much more expensive. A thermoplastic matrix as you suggest will be more expensive than a thermoset matrix and will dictate very different possibilities for the manufacturing method, although its better toughness may make the composite needed lighter. The method of manufacture will be absolutely fundamental to any design. Research manufacturing methods for thermoplastic matrix carbon fiber reinforced composites.

My friend Irving rides a bike faster than most people drive a car on suburban streets.
He won some kind of competition, in which his prize was a very, very, expensive bike, made of magnesium, which made it very light.
He hated it, and stopped riding it almost immediately, because it was too flexible.