Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Bilingual Engineering 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

EngWade

Civil/Environmental
Aug 5, 2009
US
So I have long had an interest in learning a second language, and have finally decided to take the plunge and make a go for it. I'd like to know if anyone here is bilingual or knows someone who is (that practices in engineering), and how they apply it to their profession. I am still a young engineer, with most of my career still ahead of me, and have had recurring aspirations of partnering my technical background in engineering with an ability to bridge language gaps.

Any experience/ideas/advice would be most appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Some comments based on about 40 different countries and dealing with designers, codes/standards and and contractors, but obviously a basic routine understanding of the metric systems and conversions to the inch-pound system is a given:

English/American is a very universal language is most developed countries because of the standards that were adopted as a part of the local codes and standards. In India, for example, the official language is Hindi, but is English/American for technical applications and it is used in all schools and codes/standards.

Because of the differences in the alphabet and sentence structure languages that are based on the Cyrillic alphabet can be difficult (Russian and Greek are examples). The oriental languages Chinese versions, Japanese, Korean and other Asian languages are also unique and require more time to be able generally read documents and speaking can be longer, although some newer systems developed in the last 20 years have sped up the time frame for speaking. Unless you are dedicated to working in that area, it is best to develop a basic understanding, but rely upon a local professional.