Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Billable rate question 9

Status
Not open for further replies.

benny12

Civil/Environmental
Apr 22, 2024
US
Does anyone know of any studies or white papers written on billable rate calculations? I’m in an negotiation regarding my salary and since we use studies in my forensic based job, I figure that may help me get my salary alignment discussion progressed favorably. Or I may learn that I should drop it.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Note that the rate multiplier is highly dependent on the company and their internal practices. Some companies run lean, while others run heavy

I personally wouldn't worry too much about multiplier; your base salary is your worth, so trying to fit into some bucket may be a disservice to your long-term goals. If you're worth your salary, they'll figure out a way to deal with it, or they don't deserve you.

TTFN (ta ta for now)
I can do absolutely anything. I'm an expert! faq731-376 forum1529 Entire Forum list

I have had everything from rate = 2xhourly pay to rate = 7xhourly pay. The former was a very small company essentially running at cost to try and stay afloat during a recession, and the later a tier 1 doing alot of hollywood accounting to try and pressure engineers to work faster (basically, bid the job with the same total budget but suppress number of hours; then end up "writing off" hours over the course of the job as "losses").

Read the annual salary surveys for the professional organizations you belong to. They will give you a reasonable idea of how your salary falls relative to others in your field, age, location, or otherwise. Dont make the mistake of associating income with cost-of-living. Stateside, incomes vary little city-city or rural-rural area whereas cost of living varies a lot.